Scroll Top

Gustov Mahler on April 22nd


The great Austrian-born composer Gustov Mahler and his Symphony No. 1 will be featured on this week’s radio show.  “The Joy of the Orchestra with the LaGrange Symphony’s Richard Prior”, is a weekly radio series on WELR (Eagle 102.3 FM)On Thursday, April 22nd, 8:00 PM, join us, as we listen to the Berlin Philharmonic, conducted by Claudia Abbado, in their performance of Mahler’s Symphony No. 1

This work (also known as Titan) was chosen as the grand finale for our 2017-18 season, and was performed by the LaGrange Symphony Orchestra on April 24th, 2018 at Callaway Auditorium, LaGrange, GA.  Requiring many additional instruments, this was a monumental occasion.  On that date we actually set a record for the most adult musicians on stage – seventy-seven (77) to be exact!  It was a terrific performance, noted as being “top-level” with uplifting drama combined with brilliant positive energy.    You can read the concert review from that night HERE.

Tune in Thursday, April 22nd, 2021 at 8:00 PM!  You won’t want to miss this spring series episode of the LSO radio show featuring Gustov Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 in D Major performed by the Berlin Philharmonic. Claudia Abbado conducting.

Specifics about the Series

Beginning March 18th, the show entitled The Joy of the Orchestra airs on Thursdays from 8:00 PM to 9:00 PM on WELR (Eagle 102.3 FM).  We are excited to offer this new series and share The Joy of the Orchestra with you once again. This series will run from March 18th thru May 6th, 2021.  Accessing the radio station is exactly the same as in the fall.  The only difference is the day and time of the shows.  If you want to listen online, there is a handy button on the home page of our website.

This show airs every Thursday until May 6th 2021.

How to Participate

Listen with a radio or online Thursdays at 8:00 PM.  The station is WELR (Eagle 102.3 FM).  On your radio, simply tune to that frequency of 102.3 FM.  If you want to listen online (with your computer or smart device) this station can be accessed HERE, or via a handy button on the LaGrange Symphony’s website homepage (  This button is gold in color and says “LISTEN LIVE HERE”.  Read more about our 2020-2021 Season HERE.

About the Weekly Radio Show

The Joy of the Orchestra is a weekly, one-hour radio show hosted by the LaGrange Symphony’s Richard Prior.  Just like the previous series, which aired this past fall, this new spring radio series will feature an exciting array of orchestral music. Maestro Prior will give insights into the selections which include historical background, musical nuances and other elements for which to listen. With an even deeper and richer understanding of the music, you will experience and enjoy these works in a whole new light! This show will focus on live recordings from LSO concerts as well as performances by other notable orchestras.

Posts about Previous Radio Show Episodes in the Spring 2021 Series are listed below.

Welcome to Spring


Women Composers

Mozart Requiem

All Dvorak Program

Related Posts