Scroll Top

Dr. Werner Linz Honored

Naming of the Dr. Werner A. Linz Emeritus Award.

The LaGrange Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors honored long-time board member Dr. Werner Linz August 9, 2016 by naming the award given to Emeritus Board members after him.  The award was announced at a reception held at Del’avant.   Shown in this photo at the announcement reception (below) are left to right LSO immediate past president Gary Mayer, honoree Dr. Werner Linz, and current LSO president Gail Daniel Browne.

Dr. Linz, a retired physician and long-time patron of the LaGrange Symphony Orchestra, was a founding member of the LaGrange Symphony Board of Directors. He is the only board member who actively served for the first 25 years of the Symphony’s existence, holding numerous leadership roles on the board, including President from January of 1998 until June of 2000. He served as president during a difficult period for the organization and created a solid foundation from which the orchestra continues to build successfully upon today.

The board recently formalized the requirements for recognition as an Emeritus member of the board. People named to this status must have served for a minimum of nine years on the board and made significant contributions of time, resources and personal energy to the organization.

The LaGrange Symphony Orchestra and its patrons owe a debt of gratitude to Dr. Linz for his 25 years of commitment, leadership and service to help build this symphony into what we all enjoy today.

Congratulations and thank you, Dr. Linz!