Scroll Top

Symphony to be Out Of This World!

The LaGrange Symphony Orchestra will present Gustav Holst’s The PLANETS on Tuesday, April 23, 7:30 PM in Callaway Auditorium, LaGrange, GA.  This will be the grand finale concert of the 2018/19 season and this epic piece will be performed in its entirety, with seven movements.  Written between 1914 and 1916, it has greatly influenced other artists, especially composers, so you may recognize some of its passages.  One composer who has drawn much inspiration from this epic piece was John Williams, known for his film scores.  (In 2017 the LSO performed a widely appealing tribute to John Williams entitled Embrace the Silver Screen.)

The seven movements in Gustav Holst’s The PLANETS represent each of the planets in our solar system that could be seen from Earth.  The planets being Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.  Pluto was not in the mix at that time. Here is a visual representation of the scale of these planets.  In 1991, the term “Dwarf Planet” was coined to ease the turmoil over whether Pluto was a planet or not.  Never-the-less, this symphony contains seven tremendous movements.

Each audible representation is astoundingly unique.  This spectacular symphony will leave you awe inspired and will progress through the solar system in this fashion:

Mars, the Bringer of War

Venus, the Bringer of Peace

Mercury, the Winged Messenger

Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity

Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age

Uranus, the Magician

Neptune, the Mystic


Don’t miss this grand finale concert.  It will be out-of-this-world!

Related Posts